“Magsy, please don’t stand on Miles Davis”

September 27, 2008

So I put together (actually recreated) the Many Hats Creative music studio and have started teaching. Here’s a photo:

Many Hats Creative Music Studio
The Many Hats Creative Music Studio

Last weekend while moving some of the wall hangings back in to the studio, Mags walked across the posterboard of my huge French Miles Davis poster, prompting the comment and this post. (I’d put the poster on the floor to flatten it out and to try to figure out which wall to put it on.)

When people ask me about being a father or grandfather, I frequently comment that “it’s the only time in your life you get to say certain things . . . like, ‘Green beans don’t belong in your nose’ or to explain things like (actual conversation with Kim, Mags’ Mom), “Well, no, eating poop won’t kill you, but it could make you very sick, and it probably doesn’t taste very good . . . no, I haven’t tried it. I’m not really sure why dogs do that. Dogs do a lot of things that you shouldn’t do.”

Just one of the great joys of being a parent . . .

2 Responses to ““Magsy, please don’t stand on Miles Davis””

  1. raykudar@sunflower.com Says:

    John,
    Since you are also a WRITER, I feel under more pressure to write this right!! haha
    I want to thank you again. You are a generous, kind, funny, and talented man. I am lucky that somehow I was “pushed” toward you.
    You are one of the people I credit with helping to “bring my life back” again.
    Ruthann Reigle

  2. raykudar@sunflower.com Says:

    Sorry, I see now that the REPLY was supposed to be about Magsy/Miles!
    Yes, as a parent I too have had to address issues I never imagined. Strange items shoved into ears and nose seem to be at the top of the list.
    I hope Miles was OK. And you sound like a wonderful grandfather. Magsy is a VERY lucky girl.
    And, No, this is not sucking up to the teacher!! ;)
    I truly mean that. Not having much family support, as and adult I can see how much it can change your life.
    I hope that Magsy and all the other lucky family members “get it”. But, since they have always been so lucky, they might not see it. Tell them to talk to me!!! ;)
    Ruthann


Leave a comment